Every Saturday, I meet with my Team In Training team for a long group run.  (Yesterday was 5.5 miles.)  Before every long run, someone shares a mission moment.  Since I am prone to tears (I HATE crying in front of people), these mission moments make me a small mess.  But, every Saturday, I am reminded why I’m not just running for me.

Yesterday, I heard Tom’s story.  His mother had a seizure in January and they were not sure if it was a stroke or something else.  After numerous tests, they found 2 tumors in her brain (the largest the size of a lemon).  They removed the lemon tumor and determined she had a form of lymphoma cancer – a better case scenario w/ about 4 years to live instead of the weeks with the other possibility.  After going through two rounds of chemo, his mother decided she would prefer to spend whatever time she had left with her family.  One month ago from yesterday (it boggles my mind how things in real life have a perfect symmetry to them), she passed away.  Tom decided when she was diagnosed he would join Team in Training for his mom.  He is running the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco – wearing a skirt and all – to honor her.

Not all mission moments are sad.  Many are uplifting testaments to a person or a family’s courage.

If you would like to make a donation to fund research & programs for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, please click here: http://pages.teamintraining.org/wa/nikesf11/nbishopobl  Donations are tax deductible & if you donate more than $20 by June 20th online, you will be entered in a drawing for a $25 Starbuck’s gift card.

A HUGE THANK YOU to the Johnson family for their incredibly generous donation this morning!!

