There was no mission moment shared on Saturday but someone made a comment that struck a chord with me.

We were introduced to two girls who finished the spring season of team in training; they ran the Seattle Rock’n’Roll Full Marathon a few weeks ago.  As people were being introduced (name, race event), someone said they were running “just a half.”  One of the girls immediately corrected her, hence the cartoon above.

It was a big moment for me because I continue to struggle with the inferior concept of just a half marathon.  I’m asking (and sometimes begging – thank you!) for donations.  Although people are donating to a great cause – the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society – they are donating in support of me running just a half.

Thirteen point one miles.  It seems like such a small number.  Anyone can run 13.1 miles.  It’s just 13.1 miles.

But it’s not just a half, it is a half marathon.  And I’m going to run it.

I’m going to run it.

Who would have thought?

