I fell for Big Sur in college.  It was this romanticized, mystical Beatnik hangout on the California coast.  The summer before my last year in college, after having been wooed by the Romantics and falling head over heels in love with the real life characters of Kerouac’s books, Big Sur seemed to call my name.

Last October, I read an article in Runner’s World about the 25 best marathons for beginners.  The Big Sur International Marathon was on that list; it may have been on the top of that list.  The race is run mid spring – this year it was held May 15th.  By October 2010, the race was sold out.  Eight months until the starting line & the race was sold out!

Like any good girl scout, I put a reminder in my Outlook calendar for July 15th: register for Big Sur.

All week, I have been eating a steady diet of Big Sur marathon footage from youtube for lunch.  The anticipation for Friday has been killing me.  I’m pretty sure this is the slowest week recorded in history.

The race is 10 months away & I’m already memorizing the elevation drops & gains and figuring out where I can find a two mile hill (with a 700 foot elevation gain) to practice on.  And if I can get to sleep tonight at a decent hour, I may hear my alarm when it goes off tomorrow morning so I am ready to register at 7 a.m. when the registration opens.  (Kinda like waiting in line for tickets to R.E.M.’s supposed last concert in ’95.)

Granted, I haven’t even run 13.1 miles & I’m already daydreaming (salivating) for the next big challenge.

Ah, life is a gate, a way, a path to Paradise anyway, why not live for fun and joy and love or some sort of girl by a fireside, why not go to your desire and LAUGH… (Jack Kerouac, Big Sur)

** As of 7:10 a.m. this morning – I am registered to run Big Sur next April!! **

