I have relegated Thursdays to 36×36 writing days but since I settled on a work-able schedule, I have only missed every single self-imposed deadline.  (oops…)

Since I’m over due & out of order, I may as well write about stand up paddle boarding (aka SUP, if you’re a cool kid).  A friend of mine tried SUP about two weeks before my foray into the cold Puget Sound waters.  I believe there are certain things you shouldn’t know about before you do them.   For any new adventure, it may be best to feel like you are in uncharted waters.

What I remember from his recap: how hard it was to go from a kneeling position to a standing position & how much his legs shook (this eventually subsided).  Plus the thing about falling in.

photo courtesy of Surf Ballard

Needless to say, there was a lil bit of fear before I hit the water.  I didn’t make matters any better when I kept teasing Honey Badger about the 6-gilled shark found in Puget Sound waters.

personal rendering of a story people quote & the image going thru my head. minus the boat. add surfboard.

With visions of sharks in our heads, Honey Badger & I head up to Surf Ballard for a SUP lesson.  Minus the basics (how to hold a paddle, stand up on your board, etc.), we are told “If you don’t fall in the first 10 minutes, you’ll fall in the last 10.”

It kinda goes like this: wade into the water about knee deep.  Battle seaweed (because if we have anything in the Puget Sound, its an abundance of kelp).  Get up on your board.  The sway of the board as you try to center your balance.  Fear.  Fear.  Fear of falling in.  (Has it been 10 minutes yet?)  Breathe.  And start paddling.

I didn’t stand up.  Seemed too tenuous and I really didn’t want to fall in.  We paddle down to a little cove and as Honey Badger is trying to turn around – BAM, she hits the water.  I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard or tried not to laugh so hard.  Laughing isn’t good when you’re trying to balance on water.

We head back and cross a waterway with heavy boat activity.  If you don’t think you can paddle fast, put yourself in the midst of boat wakes on a long board.  The other thing, my dad used to say when sailing, if they’re eating trees, they have the right of way – but what happens when a lone lil SUP girl (ok, …a group) never eats trees?  And also not have stellar turning capabilities?

That lone girl paddles as fast & as hard as she can to make it to the safe lil cove where she started.  Grateful there was no meeting of sharks or jellyfish or water.  A bit over the top, perhaps…

Would I be willing to go again?  The very next day…

