THE PLAYLIST: the most important piece of equipment for race day (or so I believe).

Who needs shoes?  Got tunes?  Will run.

The list started out with over seven hours of play time, narrowed it down to about five and then took on the daunting task of trying to match up songs for each mile post.  Final list has about three hours of music for my running pleasure.  I can neither confirm nor deny the use of a spreadsheet and formulas and such to make sure I was catching the important miles: the miles where a good song can make all the difference.

To prevent jumping out of the gate too fast, I’m starting with Fur Elise.  It is a favorite song since I saw this commercial as a kid:

Following up Fur Elise with

  • (Sittin’ On) The Dock of The Bay (a lil shout out to San Francisco)
  • Eblouie par la nuit (ZAZ)
  • Keep It Loose, Keep It Tight (Amos Lee)
  • Losing My Religion (Ryan Star)
  • Never Alone (Jim Brickman)
  • Glycerine (Bush)
  • Dreaming My Dreams (Cranberries)
  • Defying Gravity (Wicked Cast CD)
  • Let’s Get It Started (Black Eyed Peas)
  • What Goes Around/…/Comes Around (Justin Timberlake)
  • Gives You Hell (Glee)
  • Shut Up & Let Me Go (The Ting Tings)
  • You & I (Lady Gaga)
  • Let Her Cry (Darius Rucker)
  • Easy (Rascal Flatts & Natasha Bedingfield)
  • Far Behind (Candlebox)
  • Baby Did a Bad Bad Thing (Chris Isaak)
  • Conteo (Don Omar)
  • Up All Night (Alex Clare)
  • Someone Like You (Adele)
  • Dog Days Are Over (Florence & the Machine)
  • Folsom Prison Blues (Everlast)
  • Sinnerman (Nina Simone)
  • Fighter (Christina Aguilara)
  • In for the Kill (La Roux w/ Kanye West)
  • Moves Like Jagger (Maroon 5)
  • Too Close (Alex Clare)
  • The Rockafeller Skank (Fatboy Slim)
  • Les passants (ZAZ)
  • Beggin’ (Madcon)
  • Give Me Everything (Pitbull + others)
  • Club Can’t Handle Me Now (Flo Rida)
  • Billionaire (Glee)
  • Skyscraper (Demi Lovato)
  • Feeling Good (Nina Simone)
  • Just Breathe (Pearl Jam)
  • Breathe (Sia)
  • In My Arms (Plumb)
  • Amen (Eden’s Edge)
  • Rolling in the Deep (Adele)
  • Little Lion Man (Mumford & Sons)
  • Just a Dream (Nelly)
  • Mr. Know It All (Kelly Clarkson)
  • Empire State of Mind (Jay-Z w/ Alicia Keys)
  • Fix You (Coldplay)
  • Lose Yourself (Eminem)
  • Eye of the Tiger (Survivor)
  • Chariots of Fire

The last few songs may be a bit overkill.  And cheesy.  Writing this post, I discovered a theme: piano recitals.  From the McD’s commercial to Chariots of Fire, the song I played at my last piano recital.  And a tad bit proud I can still play the chorus today (right hand only).

