My twitterverse has blown up the past few days.  All because of one very big event in New York City: the NYC Marathon.  The NYC Marathon is on my race bucket list but after this weekend, I want to run it sooner rather than later.  I am a girl who is easily swayed by hype.

45,000 runners.  26.2 miles.  Through five New York boroughs.  Does it get any better?  (Maybe with a post race NY style pizza?)

As most people were sleeping this morning, I was online watching a stunningly impressive elite women’s race with Mary Keitany leading the women by over two minutes for most the race (she ended up 3rd).  Her pace stayed somewhere in the 5:19-5:35 range.  Insane.  I saw the beginning of the elite men’s race but it didn’t have the same excitement as the women’s race.  Geoffrey Mutai won the men’s marathon with a time of 2:05:06; his last mile was at a 4:39 pace.  He also broke the world record in April at the Boston Marathon.  Except his time has an *asterisk* next to it.  Something about the perfect storm of running conditions (tail wind, etc).

There are no delusions I’ll ever run a two hour marathon.  But it is inspiring to see the people who are at the top of their game in this sport.  And strangely, for the first time in my life, I will be paying attention to more than volleyball at the summer Olympics in London next year.

