I have been mulling over 2012 races & running goals since July.  Sad, I know.  It started with registering for the Big Sur International Marathon.  When I first read about this marathon (October 2010), the 2011 race was sold out – eight months before the race.  I registered the minute registration was available.  About a month later, the Big Sur marathon was sold out.  As I heard about interesting races in 2011, I made mental post-its to see if it would fit into my 2012 race schedule.

Race Schedule for 2012

  • Resolution Run Series (10m, 15m & 20m), Steilacoom, WA
  • Lake Sammamish Half Marathon, Issaquah, WA
  • Big Sur International Marathon
  • Capital City Half Marathon, Olympia, WA
  • Rainier to Ruston 50 mile relay, Tacoma, WA
  • Grand Ridge Solstice 5 mile, Issaquah, WA
  • Cougar Mountain Trail Series (5m, 8m, 10m, 13m, 50k), Seattle, WA
  • Ragnar Relay: Blaine to Whidby Island, WA
  • Chicago Marathon, Chicago, IL
  • Seattle Half Marathon, Seattle, WA

There are a few other races I am interested in running but it will depend on whether they fit into my schedule.  I am most excited to run the relays and most nervous to run Big Sur (my first full marathon!).

Other Running (or Running Related) Goals

  • Run 5 half marathons
  • Run 2 marathons
  • Run 2 relays
  • Run 1200-1500 miles
  • Complete a trail series
  • Beat my 2011 Grand Ridge Solstice time (by a lot!)
  • Sub 10 minute/mile pace
  • Go to yoga 2x/week
  • Take the 30 day yoga challenge
  • Do the splits (maybe a long shot, but…)
  • Yoga poses to perfect: Lord of the Dance, Tree & full Pigeon
  • Attend Crossfit 2x/week
  • Compete in an obstacle course (à la Mudrun or Warrior Dash)

I have non-running goals as well – crossing off all items on my 36×36 list, some travel goals plus I am planning on crossing off two basketball arena visits from my bucket list in 2012.  At some moment in 2011, I thought it would be cool to watch a game at each arena & then thought maybe it was a stupid idea.  It’s still on.  The real question will be if I can blaze my green Celtic pride in a sea of Chicago red.  We’ll see if I have the guts to follow through with that in February.

Next up: annual review info for those interested.  It has been such a great exercise in living intentionally & I have nothing but great things to say about it.

And since that will happen after Christmas:

Wishing y’all a very merry Christmas!

sammie: jingle dog sister who stood still while we wrapped her in Christmas lights

