Training for Big Sur during volleyball season has been difficult.  For several reasons: the biggest is time or lack thereof but I also think my commitment has waned a bit.  After practice, I’m so energized, I have a hard time falling asleep.  When my alarm goes off at 4:30a, the choice to fall back asleep usually wins out.  As I’m resetting the alarm for 6:30, there is an inner conversation about how I can best rearrange my schedule to get a run in after work.  Sometimes it means I have to double up on night activities (practice, or playing volleyball), which is hard on the body.  And also means I have little or no time to make a healthy dinner.

In addition, I thought signing up to run my long runs with a training group would eliminate my slacking.  Until, I realized between races & volleyball tournaments, I would mostly be running on my own.  Eight consecutive weeks of running without a training group.  The motivation comes easier when you are running with a group of people.

And this is where you queue the music – you know the one: from Rocky IV when Rocky is running in the Soviet Union in the snow.

The gauntlet has been thrown.  The challenge has been issued.  For the next eight weeks, my life is nothing but marathon training.  There are no more alarm resets.  There are no more schedule adjustments.  100% focus on running this race.  And running it well.

This morning when my alarm went off at 4:30a, after pushing snooze a few times (planned!), I headed to the gym.  Day one down.

